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Regulation of the Bedford Board of Health 
Section 6B: Restricting the Sale of Tobacco Products 

and Nicotine Delivery Products 
Effective July 1, 2012  

(exclusive of Section 6B6.0, which is effective July 1, 2013) 
 
6B1.0 Statement of Purpose: 
Whereas there exists conclusive evidence that tobacco smoke causes cancer, respiratory and 
cardiac diseases, negative birth outcomes, irritations to the eyes, nose and throat (Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention, Fact Sheet: Health Effects of Cigarette Smoking; January 
12, 2012); and 
 
Whereas among the 15.7% of students nationwide who currently smoked cigarettes and 
were aged less than eighteen (18) years, 14.1% usually obtained their own cigarettes by 
buying them in a store (i.e., convenience store, supermarket, or discount store) or gas station 
during the thirty (30) days before the survey (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 
"Youth Surveillance - United States 2009," 59 MMWR SS-5, June, 2010); and 
 
Whereas nationally in 2000, sixty-nine (69%) percent of middle school age children who 
smoke at least once a month were not asked to show proof of age when purchasing 
cigarettes (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, "Youth Surveillance - United States 
2000," 50 MMWR SS-04, Nov. 2001); and 
 
Whereas the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has concluded that nicotine is 
as addictive as cocaine or heroin (U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public 
Health Service, Office of the Surgeon General. How Tobacco Smoke Causes Disease: The 
Biology and Behavioral Basis for Smoking-Attributable Disease, 2010); and 
 
Whereas the results of the Bedford Board of Health tobacco compliance checks from 2011 
indicate that 10% or 1 of 10 of Bedford retailers sold to a youth. The penalty this retailer 
incurred was to remove tobacco from the shelves and cease tobacco sales at his business for 
one week; and  
 
Whereas in 2010, an estimated 69.6 million Americans aged 12 or older were current users 
of tobacco, of which an estimated 13.2 million Americans aged 12 or older smoked cigars 
(representing 5.2 percent of all tobacco users). In recent years, the number of people who 
smoked a cigar for the first time in the past year has been steady; in 2010, there were 2.9 
million persons aged 12 or older who used cigars for the first time. The average age of first 
time cigar smokers declined slightly in 2010 to 20.5 years from 20.7 years in 2009 (U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration. Results from the 2010 National Survey on Drug Use and Health); and 
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Whereas in a Massachusetts sample of 5,000 youth age twelve to eighteen years, 16.4% 
reported they had smoked a cigar (Soldz S, Huyser DJ, Dorsey E. Youth preferences for 
cigar brands: rates of use and characteristics of users. Tob Control. 2003; 12(2):155-160); 
and 
 
Whereas, in Massachusetts, the price of a pack of cigarettes can be more than ten times the 
price of a single cigar since minimum packaging requirements, and certain taxes do not 
presently apply to cigars, and lower priced cigars are attractive to youth looking for a less 
expensive alternative to cigarettes (Final Regulation Banning the Sale of Single, Cheap 
Cigars in Baltimore City, Baltimore City Health Department, January 14, 2009); and 
 
Whereas nicotine levels in cigars are generally much higher than nicotine levels in cigarettes 
(National Cancer Institute. National Institutes of Health. Fact Sheet: Cigar Smoking and 
Cancer. October 27, 2010); and 
 
Whereas nearly 1 in 30 of all youth age 12-17 years report cigar use in the past month (U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 
Administration. Results from the 2010 National Survey on Drug Use and Health); and 
 
Whereas according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Reducing tobacco 
use: a report of the Surgeon General. Atlanta, GA: US Department of Health and Human 
Services, CDC; 2000), cigarette price increases reduce the demand for cigarettes and 
thereby reduce smoking prevalence, cigarette consumption, and youth initiation of smoking. 
As such, we extrapolate a similar outcome for cigars; and 
 
Whereas in 1996 an estimated 6.0 million 14–19 year-olds reported having smoked a cigar 
during the previous year (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Disease Control, Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report CDC’s May 23, 1997 / 
46(20);433-440); and 
 
Whereas the 2012 U.S. Surgeon General’s Report on Preventing Tobacco Use Among 
Youth and Young Adults, reports that in 2005 Ringel, Wasserman, & Andreyeva, conducted 
logistic regression analyses to examine whether increased cigar prices and state tobacco 
control policies related to cigar use. Using the 1999 and 2000 iterations of the National 
Youth Tobacco Survey, Ringel and colleagues analyzed data from 33,632 adolescent 
participants aged nine to seventeen. They found that increased cigar prices significantly 
decreased the probability of male adolescent cigar use and found that a 10% increase in 
cigar prices would reduce the sample’s cigar use by 3.4%; and 
 
Whereas despite state laws prohibiting the sale of tobacco products to minors, access by 
minors to tobacco products is a major problem; and  
 
Whereas the sale of tobacco products and nicotine delivery products (as defined herein) are 
incompatible with the mission of health care institutions because they are detrimental to the 
public health and undermine efforts to educate patients on the safe and effective use of 
medication; and 



 

 
Regulation of the Bedford Board of Health  Page 3 of 10 
Section 6B: Restricting the Sale of Tobacco Products and Nicotine Delivery Products 

 
Whereas educational institutions sell tobacco products to a younger population, which is 
particularly at risk for becoming smokers and such sale of tobacco products and nicotine 
delivery products are incompatible with the mission of educational institutions that educate 
a younger population about social, environmental and health risks and harms; now, therefore 
it is the intention of the Bedford Board of Health to curtail the access of tobacco products by 
minors. 
 
6B2.0 Authority: 
This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted to the Bedford Board of 
Health by Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 111, Section 31 that "Boards of health may 
make reasonable health regulations." 
 
6B3.0 Definitions: 
For the purpose of this regulation, the following words shall have the following meanings: 
 
Business Agent: An individual who has been designated by the owner or operator of any 
establishment to be the manager or otherwise in charge of said establishment. 
 
Cigar: Any roll of tobacco that is wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing 
tobacco with or without a tip or mouthpiece. 
 
E-Cigarette: Any electronic nicotine delivery product composed of a mouthpiece, heating 
element, battery and/or electronic circuits that provides a vapor of liquid nicotine to the user, 
or relies on vaporization of solid nicotine or any liquid. This term shall include such devices 
whether they are manufactured as e-cigarettes, e-cigars, e-pipes or under any other product 
name. 
 
Educational Institution: Any public or private college, school, professional school, scientific 
or technical institution, university or other institution furnishing a program of higher 
education. 
 
Employee: Any individual who performs services for an employer. 
 
Employer: Any individual, partnership, association, corporation, trust or other organized 
group of individuals, including Bedford or any agency thereof, which uses the services of 
one (1) or more employees. 
 
Health Care Institution: An individual, partnership, association, corporation or trust or any 
person or group of persons that provides health care services or employs health care 
providers licensed, or subject to licensing, by the Massachusetts Department of Public 
Health or its successor under M.G.L. c. 112 (or any successor statute) or a retail 
establishment that provides pharmaceutical goods and services and is subject to the 
provisions of 247 CMR 6.00.  Health care institution includes, but is not limited to, 
hospitals, clinics, health centers, pharmacies, drug stores, doctor offices and dentist offices. 
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Minor: Any individual who is under the age of eighteen (18). 
 
Nicotine Delivery Product: Any manufactured article or product made wholly or in part of a 
tobacco substitute or containing nicotine that is expected or intended for human 
consumption, but not including a tobacco substitute prescribed by a licensed physician or a 
product that has been approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration for sale 
as a tobacco use cessation or harm reduction product or for other medical purposes and 
which is being marketed and sold solely for that approved purpose.  Nicotine delivery 
product includes, but is not limited to, e-cigarettes. 
 
Permit Holder: Any person engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco products and/or 
nicotine delivery products directly to consumers, who applies for and receives a 
tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit or any person who is required to apply for a 
tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit pursuant to these regulations, or his, her or its 
business agent.  
 
Self Service Display: Any display from which customers may select a tobacco product or a 
nicotine delivery product without assistance from an employee or store personnel, excluding 
vending machines. 
 
Tobacco Product: Cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, bidis, snuff or tobacco 
in any of its forms. 
 
Tobacco/Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit:  The permit granted by the Bedford Board 
of Health to sell or distribute tobacco and/or nicotine delivery products. 
 
Vending Machine: Any automated or mechanical self service device, which upon insertion 
of money, tokens or any other form of payment, dispenses cigarettes or any other tobacco 
product or nicotine delivery product. 
 
6B4.0 Tobacco/Nicotine Delivery Product Sales to Minors Prohibited: 

 
6B4.1 
No person shall sell a tobacco or nicotine delivery product or permit a tobacco or nicotine 
delivery product to be sold to a minor; or not being the minor's parent or legal guardian, give 
a tobacco or nicotine delivery product to a minor. 
 
6B4.2 Required Signage: 
a. In conformance with and in addition to Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 270, 

Section 7, a copy of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 270, Section 6, shall be 
posted conspicuously by the owner or other person in charge thereof in the shop or other 
place used to sell tobacco products at retail.  The notice shall be provided by the 
Massachusetts Department of Public Health or its successor and made available from the 
Bedford Board of Health.  The notice shall be at least forty-eight (48) square inches in 
area and shall be posted conspicuously by the permit holder in the retail establishment or 
other place in such a manner so that it may be readily seen by a person standing at or 
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approaching the cash register.  The notice shall directly face the purchaser and shall not 
be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than four (4’) feet or greater than 
nine (9’) feet from the floor.  The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other 
place used to sell tobacco products at retail shall conspicuously post any additional signs 
required by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health or its successor. 
 

b. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco at retail 
shall conspicuously post signage provided by the Bedford Board of Health that discloses 
current referral information about smoking cessation.  
 

c. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell nicotine 
delivery products at retail shall conspicuously post a sign stating that “The sale of 
nicotine delivery products to minors under 18 years of age is prohibited.”  The owner or 
other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell e-cigarettes at retail shall 
conspicuously post a sign stating that “The use of e-cigarettes at indoor establishments 
may be prohibited by local law.”  The notice(s) shall be no smaller than eight-and-one-
half (8.5”) inches by eleven (11”) inches and shall be posted conspicuously in the retail 
establishment or other place in such a manner so that it(they) may be readily seen by a 
person standing at or approaching the cash register.  The notice(s) shall directly face the 
purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than four 
(4) feet or greater than nine (9) feet from the floor. 

 
6B4.3 
Identification: Each person selling or distributing tobacco or nicotine delivery products shall 
verify the age of the purchaser by means of government-issued photographic identification 
containing the bearer's date of birth that the purchaser is eighteen (18) years old or older.  
Verification is required for any person under the age of twenty-seven (27). 
 
6B4.4 
All retail sales of tobacco and nicotine delivery products must be face-to-face between a 
seller (who has a valid permit to sell or distribute such products from the Bedford Board of 
Health) and the buyer. 
 
6B5.0 Tobacco/Nicotine Delivery Products Sales Permit: 
 
6B5.1 
No person shall sell or otherwise distribute tobacco or nicotine delivery products at retail 
within Bedford, Massachusetts without first obtaining a tobacco/nicotine delivery product 
sales permit issued annually by the Bedford Board of Health.  Only owners of 
establishments with a permanent, non-mobile location in the Town of Bedford are eligible to 
apply for a permit and sell tobacco products or nicotine delivery products at the specified 
location in the Town of Bedford. 
 
6B5.2 
As part of the tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit application process, the 
applicant will be provided with this Bedford Board of Health regulation.  Each applicant is 
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required to sign a statement declaring that the applicant has read said regulation and that the 
applicant is responsible for instructing any and all employees who will be responsible for 
tobacco and nicotine delivery product sales regarding all applicable state laws regarding the 
sale of tobacco (including Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 270, Sections 6, 6A and 7, 
as may be amended from time to time) and this regulation. 
 
6B5.3 
Each applicant is required to provide proof of a current tobacco sales license issued by the 
Massachusetts Department of Revenue before a tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales 
permit can be issued by the Bedford Board of Health. 
 
6B5.4 
The fee for a tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit shall be determined by the 
Bedford Board of Health annually.  All such permits shall be renewed annually by 
December 31st and shall expire after such date. 
 
6B5.5 
A separate tobacco/nicotine delivery sales permit is required for each retail establishment 
selling tobacco and/or nicotine delivery products. 
 
6B5.6 
Each tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit shall be displayed at the retail 
establishment in a conspicuous place. 
 
6B5.7 
No tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit holder shall allow any employee to sell a 
tobacco product or nicotine delivery product until such employee reads this regulation and 
applicable state laws regarding the sale of tobacco (including Massachusetts General Laws 
Chapter 270, Sections 6, 6A and 7, as may be amended from time to time) and signs a 
statement, a copy of which will be placed on file in the office of the employer, that he/she 
has read the regulation and applicable state laws.  The statement(s) signed by a permit 
holder’s employee(s) shall be available for inspection upon request by the Bedford Board of 
Health or its designee. 
 
6B5.8 
A tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit is non-transferable, except a new permit 
will be issued to a retailer who changes location.  A new owner of an establishment that 
sells tobacco and/or nicotine delivery products must apply for a new permit.  No new permit 
will be issued unless and until all outstanding penalties incurred by the previous permit 
holder are satisfied in full. 
 
6B5.9 
Issuance of a tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit shall be conditioned on an 
applicant’s consent to unannounced, periodic inspections of his/her/its retail establishment 
to ensure compliance with this regulation. 
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6B5.10 
A tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit will not be renewed if the permit holder 
has failed to pay all fines issued and the time period to appeal the fines has expired.  

 
6B6.0 Cigar Sales Regulated (this section effective July 1, 2013): 

 
6B6.1 
No retailer, retail establishment, or other individual or entity shall sell or distribute or cause 
to be sold or distributed a cigar unless the cigar is contained in an original package of at 
least four (4) cigars.  
 
6B6.2 
Subsection 6B6.1 shall not apply to: 
a. The sale or distribution of any cigar having a wholesale price of more than two dollars 

($2.00) or a retail price of more than two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50); and, 
b. A person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for 

commercial purposes to another person or entity engaged in the business of selling or 
distributing cigars for commercial purposes with the intent to sell or distribute said 
cigars outside the boundaries of the Town of Bedford. 

c. The Bedford Board of Health may adjust from time to time the amounts specified in this 
Subsection 6B6.2 to reflect changes in the applicable Consumer Price Index by 
amendment of this regulation. 

 
6B7.0 Free Distribution: 
 
No person shall distribute, or cause to be distributed, any free samples of tobacco products 
or nicotine delivery products. 

 
6B8.0 Out-of-Package Sales: 
 
No person may sell or cause to be sold or distribute or cause to be distributed, any cigarette 
package that contains fewer than twenty (20) cigarettes, including single cigarettes. 

 
6B9.0 Self Service Displays: 
 
All self service displays of tobacco products and/or nicotine delivery products are 
prohibited. All humidors including, but not limited to, walk-in humidors must be locked. 

 
6B10.0 Vending Machines:  
 
All tobacco product and/or nicotine delivery product vending machines are prohibited. 
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6B11.0 Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Products by Health 
Care Institutions: 

 
No health care institution located in the Town of Bedford shall sell or cause to be sold 
tobacco or nicotine delivery products.  No retail establishment that operates or has a health 
care institution located within it, such as a pharmacy or drug store, shall sell or cause to be 
sold tobacco products and/or nicotine delivery products. 
 
6B12.0  Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Products by 

Educational Institutions: 
 
No educational institution located in the Town of Bedford shall sell or cause to be sold 
tobacco or nicotine delivery products.  This includes all educational institutions as well as 
any retail establishments that operate on the property of an educational institution. 

 
6B13.0 Violations: 
 
6B13.1 
It shall be the responsibility of the permit holder and/or his or her business agent to ensure 
compliance with all sections of this regulation pertaining to his or her distribution of tobacco 
and/or nicotine delivery products.  Any person who violates this regulation shall be subject 
to the following penalties: 
a.  In the case of a first violation, a fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) and the 

tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit will be suspended for seven (7) 
consecutive business days. 

b.  In the case of a second violation within twenty-four (24) months of the date of the 
current violation, a fine of two hundred dollars ($200.00) and the tobacco/nicotine 
delivery product sales permit will be suspended for fourteen (14) consecutive business 
days. 

c.  In the case of three or more violations within a twenty-four (24) month period, a fine of 
three hundred dollars ($300.00) per violation and the tobacco/nicotine delivery product 
sales permit will be suspended for thirty (30) consecutive business days per violation. 

 
6B13.2 
Refusal to cooperate with inspections pursuant to this regulation shall result in the 
suspension of the tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit for thirty (30) consecutive 
business days. 
 
6B13.3 
In addition to the monetary fines set above, any permit holder who engages in the sale or 
distribution of tobacco or nicotine delivery products directly to a consumer while his, her or 
its permit is suspended shall be subject to the suspension of all Bedford Board of Health-
issued permits for thirty (30) consecutive business days. 
 
6B13.4 
The Bedford Board of Health shall provide notice of the intent to suspend a tobacco/nicotine 
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delivery product sales permit, which notice shall contain the reasons therefor and establish a 
time and date for a hearing which date shall be no earlier than seven (7) days after the date 
of said notice.  The permit holder or its business agent shall have an opportunity to be heard 
at such hearing and shall be notified of the Board of Health's decision and the reasons 
therefore in writing.  After a hearing, the Bedford Board of Health may suspend the 
tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit if said Board of Health finds that a sale to a 
minor occurred.  For purposes of such suspensions, said Board of Health shall make the 
determination notwithstanding any separate criminal or non-criminal proceedings brought in 
court hereunder or under the Massachusetts General Laws for the same offense.  All tobacco 
and nicotine delivery products shall be removed from the retail establishment upon 
suspension of the tobacco/nicotine delivery product sales permit and shall remain removed 
from the premises of the retail establishment for the duration of any such suspension.  
Failure to remove all tobacco and nicotine delivery products shall constitute a separate 
violation of this regulation. 
 
6B14.0 Non-Criminal Disposition: 
 
6B14.1 
Whoever violates any provision of this regulation may be penalized by the non-criminal 
method of disposition as provided in Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 40, Section 21 D 
or by filing a criminal complaint at the appropriate venue. 
 
6B14.2 
Each day any violation exists shall be deemed to be a separate offense. 
 
6B15.0 Enforcement: 
 
6B15.1 
Enforcement of this regulation shall be by the Bedford Board of Health or its designated 
agent(s). 
 
6B15.2 
Any citizen who desires to register a complaint pursuant to this regulation may do so by 
contacting the Bedford Board of Health or its designated agent(s) and the Board or its 
designated agent(s) may investigate such complaint. 

 
6B16.0 Severability: 

 
If any provision of this regulation is declared invalid or unenforceable, the other provisions 
shall not be affected thereby but shall continue in full force and effect. 

 
6B17.0 Effective Date: 
 
This regulation shall take effect on July 1, 2012, exclusive of Section 6B6.0, which is 
effective July 1, 2013. 
 



Adopted by unanimous vote on May 7,2012.

Effective: July 1, 2012, with the exception of Section 6B6.0 (Cigar Sales Regulated) which
shall take effect on July 1,2013.

BEDFORD BOARD OF HEALTH

~-\~.~~~
Beatrice Brunkhorst, Co-Chair

T~~.C~

'~~~iAnita Raj, ember

,~~
" Sarah Thompson, ~

~~~evin Wormstead, Member

This regulation replaces "Section 6B, Tobacco-Sales, Distribution (Youth Access)," adopted
May 8, 2006.
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